Posted in Gifted, product review

Books2Door – Review

Does anyone else’s child love stories? Whenever we are out and she sees a book she has to have one and Mummy can’t say no because I love that she loves books but WOW! Aren’t they expensive!
I’m so glad to introduce Books2Door who offer a fantastic range of babies, children and young adult books in one place! We recently received our collaboration book order and I couldn’t wait to share with you what we got!

As you probably know Ellie is an amazing storyteller, she is dramatic and full of expression; this has developed through her love of stories. I have been trying to move her on when we are reading together and pointing out simple CVC words to sound out and blend. She’s been trying really hard with this during lockdown so I knew I wanted books that would help her develop her reading so decided to look in the 5-7 years age range.

Ten Little Bookworms – £1.00



Ellie loves the “ten little” stories and we have used them to teach her subtraction and number skills too. When i saw this little book I knew she’d love it. It’s from the 2019 World Book Day range so isn’t a long story, perfect for filling time between activities or routine. This is the story of ten little borkworms and page by page one has gone astray. Ellie loved the illustrations and remembering how many bookworms would be left.

Where’s The Unicorn: a Magical Search and Find book – £4.49


These search and find books keep Ellie entertained for hours so when I saw there was a unicorn search and find book I got a little bit excited. Everyone loves unicorns right? Ellie definitely does. In this “where’s wally” style book there are 7 different coloured unicorns to find in 17 different locations. There is so much to find that children of all ages will love this book!

Ladybird Tales My Once Upon A Time Library – £27.99

I have always wanted Ellie to enjoy the classics as well as the many amazing modern-day stories and retells in the world. This 24 book set is complete with all the classics; Beauty and The Beast, Cinderella, The Three Little Pigs, Jack and the Beanstalk and so many more! Did you know Ladybird has been publishing fairy tales for over 45 years? They are the perfect addition to any child’s bookshelf or library! I can’t wait to read these to Ellie and eventually listen to her read them herself.

Books2Door has over 7000 reviews on Trustpilot and currently have free shipping for orders over £30! You won’t be disappointed in the range of books they offer – the bargain section is pretty stocked up too!

Posted in days out, shropshire, telford

Shropshire

The Summer Holidays have started and similar to last year I already have a list as long as my arm of new places I want to visit and regular spots we go to every year. Living in Shropshire means there is already so much available on our doorstep so I thought I’d share some of the beautiful places we plan on visiting this Summer.

Telford

Apley Woods (free parking) – http://www.apleywoods.co.uk/
Telford Town Park (£ parking) – http://www.telfordtownpark.co.uk/
The Wrekin (free parking) – https://www.shropshirehillsaonb.co.uk/enjoying-the-shropshire-hills/places-to-visit/the-wrekin/
SunnyCroft (National Trust) – https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/sunnycroft
Exotic Zoo (admission prices) – https://exoticzoo.co.uk/
Blists Hill (admission prices) – https://www.ironbridge.org.uk/explore/blists-hill-victorian-town/
Enginuity (admission prices) – https://www.ironbridge.org.uk/explore/enginuity
Telford Steam Railway (admission prices) – https://telfordsteamrailway.co.uk/
Wonderland (admission prices) – https://wonderlandmidlands.co.uk/
Hoo Farm (admission prices) – https://www.hoofarm.com/
Airea 51 (admission prices) – https://airea51.co.uk/
Dale End Park Ironbridge (£ parking) – https://www.familiesonline.co.uk/local/shropshire/listing/dale-end-park/

Shrewsbury

Lyth Hill (free parking) – http://www.shropshiresgreatoutdoors.co.uk/site/lyth-hill-countryside-site/
Haughmond Hill (£ parking) – https://www.forestryengland.uk/haughmond-hill There is currently a Zog Activity Trail for little ones to take part in (£3)
Shrewsbury Quarry Park https://originalshrewsbury.co.uk/visit/quarry-park
Attingham Park (National Trust) – https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/attingham-park/

Shropshire

The Mere (Ellesmere) – https://www.ellesmere.info/
Hawkstone Park Follies – (admission prices) https://www.hawkstoneparkfollies.co.uk
Severn Valley Country Park (Bridgnorth) – http://www.shropshiresgreatoutdoors.co.uk/site/severn-valley-country-park/
Shugborough Estate (Staffordshire) (National Trust) – https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/shugborough-estate
Wightwick Manor and Gardens (Wolverhampton) (National Trust) – https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/wightwick=manor-and-gardens/
Wroxeter Roman City (Wroxeter) (admission prices) – https://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/wroxeter-roman-city/
Shawbury Fruit Farmhttps://www.facebook.com/pages/Shawbury-Fruit-Farm/1459068914331637
RAF Cosford (£ parking – free admission) – https://www.rafmuseum.org.uk/cosford/
Cbeebies Land/Alton Towers (admission prices) – https://www.altontowers.com/
Rays Farm (admission prices) – https://raysfarm.com/
Ludlow Castle (admission prices) – https://www.ludlowcastle.com/
David Austin Roses (Albrighton) – https://www.davidaustinroses.co.uk/david-austin-rose-gardens
Bridgnorth Castle Garden https://www.aboutbridgnorth.com/bridgnorth-castle/

Surrounding Shropshire

British Ironworks Centre (Oswestry) – https://www.britishironworkcentre.co.uk/
Chester Zoo (Chester) – https://www.chesterzoo.org/
Blue Planet Aquarium (Chester) – https://www.blueplanetaquarium.com/
Sea Life Centre (Birmingham) – https://www.visitsealife.com/birmingham/
Monkey Forest (Stoke) (admission prices) – https://monkey-forest.com/
Trentham Gardens (Stoke) (admission prices) – https://www.trentham.co.uk/
Ice Cream Farm (Chester) (££) – https://www,theicecreamfarm.co.uk/
Ty Mawr (Wrexham) (£1 parking) – https://www.wrexham.gov.uk/english/leisure_tourism/TyMawrCountryPark.htm